The value of religion

by

I understand that belief in a god might have some value.

And that the same could be said for going through the rituals of worship services- whether a god is believed in or not.

I know the value of community that can be had by belonging, and by believing in something/someone watching out for you.

After my daughter died, my parents- who are active church members- got many sympathy cards. I got 4. I think. My parents were offered lots of food (they turned down the offers because we all had to travel to the services and the food would have been wasted). My parents’ church did give me a Thanksgiving box, probably because my parents were involved.

I got lots of love and support from online acquaintances and friends, but almost none locally.

So, I see the value.

I just can’t become a part of that community when I don’t believe in their imaginary friend. As much as I might sometimes want the support system that comes with it. I know from previous experience I can’t keep my mouth shut when absurd claims- lacking in scientific understanding, historical evidence, or simple logic- are made. I can be a pain. So I might not get much support anyway.

In this area, if you want a social life you must belong to a church, be a sports fan, or worship government. I do none of those so I am on my own.

Leave a Reply

