Believers don’t

by

I have a really hard time grasping that otherwise reasonable people actually believe religious things. In fact, I suspect that very few of them do.

I think they are afraid to face the fact they don’t believe it. I think they are afraid to admit to other religious people they don’t believe it. I think they are more afraid of making their god angry by admitting they don’t believe (and therefore going to Hell) than of wasting their life by living a lie.

It would damage their personal relationships and their social life to admit it- I know this first hand.

I recently watched this video and was struck by what MacNutz did for the dying woman. A woman whose religious faith didn’t help. Sure, most (if not all) the Christians I know would say she obviously wasn’t a real Christian, or her faith would have comforted her. Easy to say when you aren’t in her place.

Leave a Reply

