Darkness vs Light

by

Religion. Better known as ignorance and superstition.

People have every right to choose the darkness of ignorance and superstition over the light of reality and reason. That doesn’t mean I have to stay silent about their choice.

I want everyone to embrace the light, but sometimes the darkness hides unpleasant things the light exposes. And, in the darkness it is easier to dream and fantasize. You don’t even have to close your eyes. The darkness is comfortable for many people.

I don’t share your “need” for the ignorance and superstition, and though I won’t try to stop you from wallowing in it, I won’t allow you to make me pretend your ignorance and superstition has any validity. So, no, I won’t bow my head and close my eyes while you perform your rituals- but I won’t shout and disturb you, either. Let’s just call a truce on it.

If you ask me what I think about your ignorance and superstition, however, don’t be offended when I tell you. I accept the light for what it is.

Leave a Reply

