Who says Christianity is hard?

by

Today my daughter asked me “Daddy, who was the first person?”

Were I a religious delusionoid I could have lazily answered “Adam” and been done with it.

Since I am not, I had to tailor the amazing history of human evolution to a 5 second sound-bite suited to a 6 year-old.  That’s not easy.

What I ended up saying was something like “There wasn’t a ‘first person’ because people came from the sorta people-like creatures that lived before them.”  She seems satisfied, but I wanted to tell her so much more.  

The history of human evolution is so incredibly cool and gives me such a sense of wonder and a sense of belonging.  

Someday, unless the delusionoids around us manage to kill her mind, maybe we can marvel over that beautiful history together.

Leave a Reply

