I need what?

by

Believe it or not, but this is completely unrelated to the other activities from the past weekend.  Once again I am told I “have to have faith“.

No, I don’t.  I don’t want faith.  I prefer reality, thankyouverymuch.  I can get confidence, which when applied to reality looks a lot like faith, but it isn’t.  It is based upon past experience and- well, you know, reality.  That is not faith.

Faith, as the believers shovel it out, is based upon nothing but hope.  Hope that is backed by nothing more than cherry-picking the Bible, subjective experiences that the believer can’t otherwise explain, and a desperate desire to hop on a bandwagon and belong.  I don’t need that, and I resent being told that I do.

2 Responses to “I need what?”

  1. Squarepeggeen Says:

    Wow. Synchronicity. You and I both just blogged about faith practically at the same moment. Very different things we had to say about it. But still. Compatible.

    My take on faith is a) that it has to be based on something, then b) it has to prove itself correct by producing results. I expect you wouldn’t object to much to that kind of faith. I agree that always being told to “have faith, have faith” based solely on an unreliable old book, faith that produces no results is just head banging.

  2. justasqpeg Says:

    Synchronicity. Yes. I was thinking the same thing when I read your post on faith.

    Faith that is based on something, and produces corroborating results rather than results that disprove it is not faith in the religious sense. It’s “experience”.

    The same person who had just been telling me I had to have faith was completely downcast a few hours later because circumstances had taken a change for the worst. I was wondering, although I didn’t say, what happened to faith? Then it was I, based upon experience-not faith, who was telling her that things will be better tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

