The greatest friend

by

About nine and a half years ago, I was at a desperate low-point in my life.  Worse than ever before or since.  Then one day at work they put the new girl to work with me. 

She and I began talking and I opened up to her.  I had nothing to lose. 

There was nothing romantic between us- she and I just connected as friends.  Not saying I wouldn’t have enjoyed more had it presented an opportunity.

Anyway, she found out my situation and determined to rescue me.  And that she did.  This wonderful friend didn’t just bring me into her circle of friends, she made me feel I was the center of that circle. It’s what brought me out of my very thick shell.

You don’t find a friend very often who will go to that extreme to help you fit in and make other friends. I owe her much more than I could ever repay.

I have now moved across the country from her and find myself in need of another person like her.  Without her around I’m redeveloping my shell.  Have I had my one chance-of-a-lifetime?

Leave a Reply

